New life within

IMG_2477

When my daughter was two and a half years old, she fell three times within a week…on cement…on her face… The results were an incredibly frustrated toddler and a bruised front tooth. The nerves in one front tooth were deadened from the repeated trauma and gave it a gray look. It was a sad change to her vivid smiley face, but better a gray tooth than permanent brain damage. We have just called it her ‘bruised tooth’.

We went to the dentist this week for a checkup, and the dentist wanted to x-ray my daughter’s upper gum to make sure the pending permanent tooth is healthy and undamaged. When we looked at the x-ray, we saw a beautiful straight white tooth waiting in queue.

I showed the future smile to my growing girl and she was shocked. ‘You mean my new tooth won’t be bruised?!’ Though she is too young to be self-conscious, she has only ever known a bruised tooth in her broad smile.

‘Nope! Your big girl tooth will be new and healthy. No bruises,’ I assured her with a renewed grin of my own. I needed her innocent words of regenerative beauty this morning.

This week brought some challenging news to me that has been really hard to accept. This news has created a bit of a gray cloud that has hung over my head and darkened my view of my present world. I’ve tried to put a bright smile on my face, but it’s been very hard. Very hard.

The precious excitement of my little one this morning when she realized that new life was growing inside her was the first ray of sunshine I’ve experienced this week. I realized that something new is growing in me too, and I just can’t see it. A new way of thinking. A new plan to take the place of the old one. I just don’t know what it is yet.

I’m going to imagine that the old plan I had is that gray tooth. It’s been hanging around and I’ve accepted that it was just part of my life’s plan. And it has been…until now. After this week, I know that there must be a new plan growing. A bright, white, shiny new plan that will make me smile with wonder and excitement.

Isaiah 43:18-20 (The Living Bible)

18 But forget all that—it is nothing compared to what I’m going to do! 19 For I’m going to do a brand-new thing. See, I have already begun! Don’t you see it? I will make a road through the wilderness of the world for my people to go home, and create rivers for them in the desert! 20 The wild animals in the fields will thank me, the jackals and ostriches too, for giving them water in the wilderness, yes, springs in the desert, so that my people, my chosen ones, can be refreshed.

Ephesians 6:10-11 (The Living Bible)

Last of all I want to remind you that your strength must come from the Lord’s mighty power within you. Put on all of God’s armor so that you will be able to stand safe against all strategies and tricks of Satan.

Leave a Reply

