Go slow

To hear my dad tell it, his father didn’t offer much advice. But the one piece that stuck was this: ‘Go slow and be sure you’re right’. Grandaddy gave my dad that tidbit when dad was weighing in the balances how to pursue my-not-yet-mother.

Go slow and be sure you’re right. 

As an moderately experienced adult, I can say that there are few times in life when I’m sure I’m right about anything. But going slow can ensure that choices are right-er than impulsivity can.

ImageOur family dog has recently undergone knee surgery. She is in rehab mode, with multiple short walks each day as part of her healing process. Since the day we brought her home from the vet, she has ignored her rehabilitative state and tried to charge back into her old ways. She shoved open the front door with her eager, twitching nose and took off after a buddy dog just two days post-op. I saw dollar signs flashing before my eyes as her pink, bandaged leg jerked across the yard in pursuit of old times. She was captured and safely confined, practically under lock and key after that escapade

Image

As I have walked her lately, I notice that she wants to charge onward, on three legs, leaving the injured one dangling behind. It’s too much effort to teach that one to work again, so she just wants to do without. I have to rein her in and say, ‘Go slow’. Then, she’ll put the fourth leg down and carefully limp along, training it to do its old job again.

Go slow…

It’s bizarre to me that a four-legged animal would give up the function of all faculties just to be able to do what’s familiar again. Going slow is too hard when she’s used to going fast. It’s more laborious to re-learn to walk; just leave ol’ gimpy leg behind. And yet, she can do it right when she takes her time.

…be sure you’re right.

If we let her run free now, she’d be happy. But it would just be a matter of time before she blew the other knee out from over-use. She needs both legs to support her back half. She has to learn the new way of doing things, hard and boring though it may be. It will save her more hurt and effort in the long run.

Go slow and be sure you’re right…words to learn for man and beast.

2nd Peter 3:8,9

But do not forget this one thing, dear friends: With the Lord a day is like a thousand years, and a thousand years are like a day.  The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness. Instead he is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance.

Go ahead and read the whole chapter…2 Peter 3

One thought on “Go slow

  1. Last year I tore the ligaments in my finger, and it was so frustrating to learn to do new way of doing things that I was so used to doing almost without thinking. I learnt to appreciate how marvellously and wonderfully God has made us. God bless you for your prayers. I know that God used them to encourage me.

Leave a Reply

