Hymn…or me?

My life has been a big ol’ messy pile of decisions/thoughts/confusions/worries over the past month. Job changes, desired jobs lost, patience tried, school years begun, grown-up choices required…I’m exhausted. I’m emotionally weary and worn. I feel too old and too young and too informed and too ignorant. All. And I don’t really like any of it. I’m pretty much ready for this particular season to be over.

Through it all, though, there have been these soft lyrics lilting throughthe stormy clamor in my mind. A old but precious song from my Granny’s old but precious church. If I stop thinking long enough, I can hear her warbling the words next to me. And I recall the blessed assurance she portrayed in her life. She knew who watched the sparrows, and she knew that He watched her too.

Admittedly, I had to Google all the lyrics because I could only remember the chorus. But I needed to read all the words to be reminded that the life I’m muddling through now is not what He wants for me. He wants me to look up and over the muck and trust that He is going to take care of all the details I’m fretting about.  ‘Why should I feel discouraged…Why should the shadows come..Jesus is my portion…my constant friend is he…his eye is on the sparrow…and I know he watches me…” (I’m singing it and smiling as I type).

I hope someone else can be encouraged by this today.

Why should I feel discouraged?
And why should the shadows come?
And why should my heart be lonely
And long for heaven and home?

When Jesus is my portion
My constant friend is He
His eye is on the sparrow
And I know He watches me

And I sing because I’m happy
I sing because I am free
His eye is on the sparrow
And I know He watches me
 

Let not your heart be troubled
His tender word I hear
And resting on His goodness
I lose my doubts and fears

Though by the path He leads us
But one step I may see
His eye is on the sparrows
And I know He watches me

And I sing because I’m happy
And I sing because I’m free
His eye is on the sparrow
And I know He watches me

His eye is on the sparrow
  And I know He watches me             

         

http://www.songlyrics.com/alabama/his-eye-is-on-the-sparrow-lyrics/

Leave a Reply

