Great expectations

My daughter has a baby doll that she takes everywhere with her. Karababy is the lovey’s name. She goes to church, to school (though she must wait on the waiting bench), the store, Grandma’s house…everywhere. Rather similar to Linus’s security blanket. But like everything that gets dragged through public places, Karababy gets filthy. And so, she must get a bath.

My gal doesn’t really like bath days for Karababy, but she accepts that they are necessary. She sees the grime collecting on the beloved ‘fuzzy belly’ and recognizes that the only way to make her fresh and new again is to toss her in the washer. As we are blessed to have the ever-entertaining front load washer and dryer, my girl is able to watch and wait while the cleansing process occurs. She plays patiently elsewhere until Karababy enters the dryer, and then, she takes her job as loving sentinel very seriously.

IMG_2879

 

My son, on the other hand, is rarely still. He’s always on the move…playing lacrosse, building forts, digging holes,  smashing dirt clods, chasing the dog.  On the odd occasion that he slows down, he wants to draw or construct or invent…still in action. The other day, he challenged me to a baking contest…with the stipulation that we couldn’t use recipes. He just wanted to mix up some stuff and hope that it would be fabulous. Well, having a few years of cooking experience, I knew that wasn’t exactly going to work out well…so I gave him a few suggestions about ingredient portions. He still had a good time with his creation…and he had to wait for the results of his labor.

IMG_3438

I’m in a place of waiting, too. I’ve gotten restless with my part-time teaching job, and I’m ready to re-enter the classroom full-time.  I taught full-time for twelve years, nine in middle school, before having my second child. I loved every day of challenging the challenging adolescent. I am meant to do that…it’s my passion and my calling. Unfortunately, full-time jobs don’t come along at just any time of the year…and so I wait. I spend my daughter’s final preschool year with her. I volunteer with my son’s class. I take on responsibilities at church that I won’t have time for later. And I wait…I wait for my instructional lovey to be ready again. I wait for the door to open on the treat of teaching middle schoolers again.  Like my own children who patiently bide their time, I will enjoy this time for what it has to offer, knowing that the future will be exciting enough.  And I’m happy with that. 

Words that are helping me now:

from Ecclesiastes 7

10Do not say, “Why were the old days better than these?” For it is not wise to ask such questions. 11 Wisdom, like an inheritance, is a good thing and benefits those who see the sun. … 13 Consider what God has done: Who can straighten what he has made crooked? 14 When times are good, be happy; but when times are bad, consider this: God has made the one as well as the other. Therefore, no one can discover anything about their future.

from Jeremiah 29

10 This is what the Lord says: “When seventy years are completed for Babylon, I will come to you and fulfill my good promise to bring you back to this place. 11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. 12 Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. 13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

from James 1

2 Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, 3 because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. 4 Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything. 5 If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you. 6 But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

