It’s broken, AND it still works…

IMG_3589

I dropped my phone and shattered the screen on May 3. I know the date because I had just sent a ‘We’re on our way’ message to a friend who was hosting my husband’s surprise 40th birthday party. I sent the message while I was standing by the outside trash can in our driveway; then, I turned around and dropped my phone face down on the asphalt driveway. After muttering something unbecoming, I picked up the phone and examined the damage. It was indeed shattered. I closed my eyes, mumbled several other sailor-like phrases, put on my smile and headed inside to gather the family to depart for the party.

On the way to the fiesta, I tried texting…and found it worked! I checked my apps, and they worked! As bad as it looked on the outside, all its inner parts seemed to be working just like new. Praise Jesus! I’m not addicted to my phone, but it has replaced my landline, and that makes it kinda vital. I really didn’t want to pay, well, anything, for a new phone. So, it was relieving to see everything functioning as it should.

Over the past few months, the smashed condition of the phone has been an interesting conversation starter. In check out lines, in store aisles, at work, at church…people have asked numerous times, ‘Why haven’t you gotten it replaced?’ And my response has been the same each time, ‘It still works!’

I realized the other day how awesome this mantra is…It’s broken, AND it still works. I’m a broken person, AND I still work. I’ve made some raunchy choices…I still do…AND I’m still working on improving that. I’m worn and torn in some spots. My heart has some dents and dings. My psyche turns funky colors sometimes. AND I’m working on that.

Friends, it doesn’t matter if you’re broken on the outside…if you have scars of past battles or wounds from present ones. It doesn’t matter if you’ve pitched fits in anger or thrown threats in selfishness or tossed your cookies in fear. It doesn’t matter if you’ve been tripped up, stood up or knocked up. What matters is that you’re still working. You’re a functioning, useful, helpful, capable being. You add to people’s lives. You contribute to others. You are worthwhile.

Don’t get discouraged if you’ve been smashed or shattered. You’re still capable of doing great things. Impressive things…because people wouldn’t expect something broken to still work. But you do, and you will.

PSALM 30

1I will exalt you, Lord, for you rescued me.
    You refused to let my enemies triumph over me.
Lord my God, I cried to you for help,
    and you restored my health.
You brought me up from the grave, O Lord.
    You kept me from falling into the pit of death.

Sing to the Lord, all you godly ones!
    Praise his holy name.
For his anger lasts only a moment,
    but his favor lasts a lifetime!
Weeping may last through the night,
    but joy comes with the morning.    

When I was prosperous, I said,
    “Nothing can stop me now!”
Your favor, O Lord, made me as secure as a mountain.
    Then you turned away from me, and I was shattered.

I cried out to you, O Lord.
    I begged the Lord for mercy, saying,
“What will you gain if I die,
    if I sink into the grave?
Can my dust praise you?
    Can it tell of your faithfulness?
10 Hear me, Lord, and have mercy on me.
    Help me, O Lord.”

11 You have turned my mourning into joyful dancing.
    You have taken away my clothes of mourning and clothed me with joy,
12 that I might sing praises to you and not be silent.
    Lord my God, I will give you thanks forever!

2 thoughts on “It’s broken, AND it still works…

Leave a Reply

